On 11th April 1940, Stokes Valley residents who were interested in forming a volunteer fire brigade came together for a meeting. The chairman of the meeting, Bill Boyce, suggested an initial membership of twelve, plus a reserve, and a working committee of possibly four or five members.

The members who were elected at this inaugural meeting of the Stokes Valley Volunteer Fire Brigade were:

Roy Lawrence
George Walker
George Mann
Arthur Cartmell
Dave McCoy
Jack Dalton
Andrew Deer
Jack Deer
Jim Deer
Leon Petherick
Bill Boyce
Eric Bonner
Keith Thomson (Reserve)  

Five members who were elected for a working committee were Tom Delaney, Bill Boyce, Roy Lawrence, George Walker and Eric Bonner.  Albert White was elected chairman and Charles Pickles secretary.